Christmas / Entertaining

Christmas in Australia

Australian Christmas recipes

I’ve spent the last two years in London experiencing Christmas Day with the in-laws the traditional English way – roast turkey with all the delicious trimmings, frosty weather, hours of television specials, and of course, The Queen’s annual Christmas message.

This year, it was time to show Mr Q how we Australians do Christmas. In my family, it means a spread of seafood and salad, with plenty of sunshine. I thought I’d share some photos with you…

christmas_in_Australia_11

Here’s my brother and sister hard at work in the kitchen before the rest of our family and friends arrived to celebrate with us. My brother Matt was in charge of the food for the day, and spent many hours prepping and planning so that there was a minimum of fuss on the day itself.

christmas_in_Australia_8

As everyone arrived, they settled into the garden to catch up and enjoy a few drinks.

Then came the food!

Christmas in Australia

christmas_in_Australia_3

My uncle James generously supplied a lot of the seafood from his business, Ashmore Foods, and my Nan’s fantastic potato salad took pride of place on the buffet table.

Christmas in Australia

The pulled pork was a recipe from the Pitt Cue Co. recipe book and ran out pretty quick!ย The tabouli salad contained walnuts and pomegranate seeds for a festive touch, and there was some cold turkey on offer in case anyone felt they were missing out on the traditional stuff.

christmas_in_Australia_5

This gorgeous side of Tasmanian salmon was baked in the oven and served with grapefruit, orange, radish and fennel.

Tasmanian Mussels

The mussels were cooked with dill and red onions and served with a gorgeous aioli.

Christmas recipes

After lunch, Mr Q entertained some of my younger cousins with some magic tricks…

christmas_in_Australia_9

And we all had a right old laugh at a prank my sister managed to pull on him:

Then we sat back and enjoyed the rest of the day! Here’s me and my brother:

christmas_in_Australia_10

I hope you all had as good a day as I did, however you celebrated. I’d love to hear how your Christmas went… But, I mostly want to hear about what you ate! Let me know in the comments below! x

https://twitter.com/ChilliMarmalade https://www.facebook.com/ChilliMarmalade http://instagram.com/emilyquintin http://pinterest.com/chillimarmalade/chilli-marmalade/

10 thoughts on “Christmas in Australia

  1. It all looks amazing Mr & Mrs Q. We miss having you around but know that you’re loving it over there. Lots of love, and here’s to a stunning 2014!
    P.s. so jealous of the sunshine and seafood. xx

  2. Hi. It was snowy here in New England. For Christmas, we had lovely beef tenderloin steaks with braised Swiss chard and leeks. I served this together with mustard mashed potatoes. Can’t imagine having this during the Aussie summer — your dishes (and the weather) look fantastic! Cheers!

  3. Season’s Greetings from chilly Brooklyn, New York!
    On Christmas Eve, we had a cut of roast bison, scallops, mashed potatoes with bacon, pan-roasted Brussels sprouts, whole cranberry sauce, homemade herb bread and homemade gingerbread fruitcake.
    On Christmas afternoon I was on my own, so I roasted half a chicken for myself. I enjoyed it with roasted carrots and turnip, asparagus, bread dressing and gravy. I also made a wee cheesecake for myself.
    Happy New Year!

  4. Traditional turkey & trimmings with family, think my parents being in their 80’s would have a fit with anything else but as you say that’s right for uk. Many years ago visited my friend in Sydney and we went up to the Gold Coast for a few days it was just before crimbo and will never forget blazing hot, being slightly sunburnt sipping a cold beer watching a merry go round with Santa on it. A happy healthy new year to you all

Let me know what you think!