Eating out / Hobart

Tasman Quartermasters

Popped into Tasman Quartermasters new Elizabeth Street digs this afternoon for a bite to eat with my mum and brother, Matt.

Tasman Quartermasters coffee

It was fairly busy when we arrived, so we were shown to a table upstairs by the window looking out over Elizabeth Street and the Melville Street site of Sunday’s Farm Gate Market.

My dining partners started with a couple of coffees, but I went straight for a bottle of Willie Smith’s Organic Apple Cider from Tasmania’s Huon Valley.

Willie Smith's Organic Apple Cider

We had plenty of time to peruse the Tasman Quartermasters burger menu, as service was a little slow (teething problems, I expect, as this was only the third day of lunch service). But, as we were in no hurry, this wasn’t an issue.

Tasman Quartermasters Menu

I eventually decided on both of the sliders: slow roast pork and apple, and the wallaby chorizo, with a side of shoestring fries.

Tasman Quartermaster burgers

Pork belly slider burger

I adored the pork slider – the buns were briochey and soft, and the pork was really tasty. The addition of the smooth apple sauce was fantastic. The wallaby chorizo, however, was a little disappointing. It was simply a slice of chorizo in a bun with a dab of some kind of aioli/mayo. For $6 I expected a little more. But, it was delicious all the same.

My brother was the clear winner, with the St Peter’s Pass Venison burger. It was melt-in-the-mouth tender and full of flavour. Better value too, getting a larger burger as opposed to the smaller sliders (plus, it comes with fries).

Tasman Quartermaster Wallaby burger

Overall, it wasn’t a bad lunch. It did take us around an hour between being seated and actually eating, which was a bit of a hassle (my brother was starving!), but I’d say it was worth the wait.

Tasman Quartermasters – 132-134 Elizabeth Street, Hobart, TAS 7001

https://twitter.com/ChilliMarmalade https://www.facebook.com/ChilliMarmalade http://instagram.com/emilyquintin http://pinterest.com/chillimarmalade/chilli-marmalade/

8 thoughts on “Tasman Quartermasters

  1. Wow, the sliders look amazing! Luckily my in-laws live in Hobart, so I will definitely go there next time we visit! I had wallaby and possum sausage last time I was in Tassie, and I didn’t love the flavour, but I’d be interested in trying it as chorizo.

Let me know what you think!

