Travel

Guilty pleasures: Airplane food

Sri Lankan Airlines food meal menuHolidays are great, and travelling is fun. But for me, the worst thing is flying. I can’t stand the hustle and bustle of airports – successfully getting through security, rushing to a departure gate, worrying about luggage weight, and keeping tabs on passports and boarding passes really stresses me out.

But the thing I love about travelling? Plane food. Yep – I get so excited when the stewards roll the trolley down the aisles laden with those foil-wrapped trays. I love the dinky cutlery and the little cups. I love the challenge of balancing everything on the tiny tray table and lifting the plastic lid on the dessert to reveal some indistinguishable delight.

Sri Lankan Airlines food meal menu

This week, I travelled on Sri Lankan Airlines from London Heathrow to Colombo, and then from Colombo to Kuala Lumpur. I flew Economy Class (one day I’ll be wealthy enough for Business, or even First Class!) and due to really low numbers of passengers, I managed to nab four seats in a row, all to myself. This made me very happy.

I was happier still when I saw the Sri Lankan Airlines menu options: Curried Lamb, Channa Dhal and Steamed Rice…

Sri Lankan Airlines food meal menu

Even though it arrived at my seat a little burned around the edges, the lamb was tender and really spicy. The dhal was mild, full of texture and perfectly seasoned. The prawn cocktail for starter was average, as was the dessert (some stodgy, floury apple thing), but generally I was impressed.

After polishing off my first meal, I stretched out on my four seats feeling pretty happy and relaxed and managed a few hours sleep.

The next meal was Spicy Chicken Yellow Curry Noodles with Vegetables. For some reason the Sri Lankan Airlines stewards informed me that the ‘regular’ meals had run out, so I was given a ‘light’ meal instead. No problem – this looked better than the meals the passengers around me were eating:

Sri Lankan Airlines light meal option

Not bad. The noodles were sloppy, but like the first meal, it was full of flavour and spice.

I arrived in Kuala Lumpur for my 24-hour stopover before my next flight to Melbourne feeling well-rested and well-fed.

In my opinion, the food on Sri Lankan Airlines was better than I’ve had on China Airlines and Etihad Airways, but not as good as what Singapore Airlines offer.

What’s the best airline food you’ve ever had? Ever had some bad experiences? Let me know!

10 thoughts on “Guilty pleasures: Airplane food

  1. Airline food is also one of my guilty pleasures! In my experience, the best food served at high altitude has been on Cathay Pacific and Singapore Airlines. But then again, I may be biased to Asian food. šŸ˜‰

    • I always go for the non-western food version. On Sri Lankan Airlines the western meals offered were a chicken hotpot (which actually looked pretty good) or the standard omelette/sausage/tomato breakfast. I did once have a dodgy pork ‘burger’ with rice patties instead of a bun on China Airlines once, that’s been my only bad experience!

  2. I’m glad i’m not the only one who secretly likes airline food! Yes, it’s not exactly home cooked, but I still get really excited to see whats going to come out of the trolleys! I like the food on Cathay Pacific, I’ve learnt through numerous flights between Hong Kong and London to, like you, always get the asian option when it comes to breakfast especially. Rice and noodles cook pretty well in airline trays, eggs on the other hand, really, really don’t! I like it when airlines hand out ice cream in between meals too – really makes the time go faster!

  3. I never the food on an airline but you make it sound so delicious, and it actually looks really lovely! I remember one time on a British Airways flight being given a chocolate muffin – best flight ever! x

Let me know what you think!

