Recipes

Lobster capunti with white truffle cream & asparagus

Lobster capunti pasta with white truffle cream & asparagus

I sampled a lot of food when I was at Taste of London this week. A lot. But the one product that I couldn’t forget easily was San Pietro a Pettine’s White Truffle Cream. Delicate, subtle, and earthy.

White truffle sauce

I tried this cream spread thinly on bruschetta, and I couldn’t get enough, so I came back later in the day and purchased a jar to take home, as I had an idea of what to pair it with…

During my Sicilian holiday earlier this month, I looked out for ingredients I could bring home and experiment with.

One thing that caught my eye when I was in a local market in Palermo was a packet of capunti caserecci pasta. These little pea pod-shaped pasta pieces scoop up sauce like a canoe, and I grabbed a pack to take back in my carry-on luggage.

capunti caserecci pasta

I had white truffle cream and Italian pasta, so the only thing worthy of adding to this dish could be the king of the sea – lobster. My local Waitrose had a few beauties heavily-discounted (just £8 for a whole lobster), so I popped this guy in my shopping basket:

Whole lobster

Lobster, white truffle, asparagus

With the addition of some asparagus, flat-leaf parsley, and a squeeze of lemon juice, I had the makings of a great dish!

Lobster capunti with white truffle cream & asparagus

1 whole cooked lobster
1 jar of San Pietro a Pettine White Truffle Cream Sauce
1 handful of flat-leaf parsley, chopped
300g capunti caserecci pasta (or any short pasta)
1 bunch of asparagus
1/2 a lemon
2 tbps olive oil
black pepper and sea salt flakes to taste

Break down the lobster, removing the meat, placing aside.
Heat the olive oil in a griddle pan and gently fry the asparagus for three minutes or so.
Bring a pot of salted water to boil and cook the pasta to al-dente. Drain, but reserve a little of the cooking water to add to the sauce.
Add the white truffle cream to a large pan and warm through, adding lemon juice, parsley, salt and pepper to taste.
Add the cooked pasta to the pan, along with the lobster meat and asparagus, and stir until combined and warmed through.
If the sauce is too thick, add a few tablespoons of the pasta cooking water.
Serve with a wedge of lemon on the side.

Lobster pasta with white truffle cream & asparagus

This dish was fantastic with a chilled glass of white wine and some crusty bread on the side. If you can’t get your hands on some lobster, then I think crab would do nicely too. A little on the expensive side for all the ingredients, but absolutely worth it if you feel like a treat!

https://twitter.com/ChilliMarmalade https://www.facebook.com/ChilliMarmalade http://instagram.com/emilyquintin http://pinterest.com/chillimarmalade/chilli-marmalade/

14 thoughts on “Lobster capunti with white truffle cream & asparagus

  1. Brilliant post! What a show stopper! Like you say, every once in a while you need to make a dish like this, a real treat. Thanks for sharing, the pictures are great.

Let me know what you think!

