Around the Web / Travel

Breakfasts around the world

Whenever I travel to a new place, I try to immerse myself in the experience as much as possible – and this usually begins with food!

I’ve enjoyed steaming bowls of phở in hectic Hanoi, tasted fantastic tom kha gai in Phuket, shared kibbeh under the stars in the desert outside Sharm el Sheikh, washed down hot bitterballen with beer at a bar in Amsterdam, and stuffed myself with tapas and sangria in Barcelona.

This week, I’m off to Sicily and I’m looking forward to enjoying every culinary delicacy the Italian island has to offer.

I was inspired to share this great link I stumbled upon about traditional world breakfasts by Victoria Philpott at Hostelbookers.com as it reminded me how much of the world I’m still yet to see!

Here’s a selection of my favourite images from the 50 of the world’s best breakfasts:

Check out the others at 50 of the world’s best breakfasts

Which one is your favourite? Where’s the most exotic place you’ve ever eaten? Where in the world are you from, and what did you eat for breakfast?

https://twitter.com/ChilliMarmalade https://www.facebook.com/ChilliMarmalade http://instagram.com/emilyquintin http://pinterest.com/chillimarmalade/chilli-marmalade/

21 thoughts on “Breakfasts around the world

  1. I opened your post as I was having an early breakfast before heading off to work – cup of tea and vegemite on toast! Thought that was pretty funny as that was the Aussie breakfast selection. I am the only one in my house who will even eat vegemite, though. Muesli and yoghurt is more common for me too. Have a great time in Sicily.

  2. I’m from Bosnia and my breakfast usually consisted of eggs and smoked meats with some feta cheese. Now that I live in America….well there seems to be no time for breakfast but when there is, I eat pancakes and fruit!

  3. Breakfast is my most favorite meal of the day! While I was in Thailand I had chicken green curry for breakfast almost everyday. I would have never thought about having Thai curry for breakfast before visiting there and now I miss it! I think I may have to have some this weekend for brunch!

  4. This is awesome! Breakfast is my favorite meal. My favorite breakfast so far has been in Paris. A simple breakfast of baguette and cheese, and I will never forget the taste.

Let me know what you think!

