Eating out / London

London’s Underground Supper Club

I hate watching people eat on the Tube. I am always seeing people peeling fruit, nibbling chips, gobbling sandwiches and even scooping up salad with their fingers and it makes me cringe. The germs down underground are out of control. In fact, when I first arrived in London, I’d blow my nose at the end of each day and it was BLACK. That doesn’t happen anymore, I suppose my body has just embraced the dusty, sooty atmosphere and is now used to it. Blergh.

Dinner on the Tube London

Table for four? (image via BasementGalley.com)

Today, I saw that the Basement Galley is offering the chance to have an entire meal on the London Underground, and from the pictures I’ve seen, it looks like it’d be an amazing experience.

London Underground supper club

(image via BasementGalley.com)

Well, when I say ON the London Underground, I mean that it’s on a decommissioned 1967 Victoria Line Carriage, so it isn’t moving, but that’s even better news! No jostling with fellow commuters for a seat and no sudden braking for suicidal travellers.

And best of all, no germs!

The menu reads like a fancy-pants restaurant, with offerings like duck and cherry terrine, fizzy cocktail jellies, Louisiana-style shrimp and grits, and fig and lavender tart.

The next Underground Supper Club is at the Walthamstow Pumphouse Transport Museum on May 25, but is totally sold-out. I’m keeping my eye out for tickets as I reckon it’s a not-to-be-missed experience, and quintessentially London!

https://twitter.com/ChilliMarmalade https://www.facebook.com/ChilliMarmalade http://instagram.com/emilyquintin http://pinterest.com/chillimarmalade/chilli-marmalade/

15 thoughts on “London’s Underground Supper Club

  1. I thought you were going to say you don’t like watching people eat… period. lol… but I agree… especially on a crowded mode of transportation. This looks like a fun and unique experience! Hope you get to do it soon. 🙂

  2. sounds like it would be a brilliant experience – wish I wasn’t so far away in the depths of rural Norfolk!

  3. Your opening is kind of hilarious. It reminded me of my first trip to London where I saw a man literally empty out a few potato chips from a bag directly onto the train seat so that his barefoot little son could eat them. The look of horror stayed on my face the entire ride.

  4. Reblogged this on cookeryaddiction and commented:
    As a London Underground train driver by day, I absolutely LOVE this idea, and will hopefully be checking it out later on in the Summer. Thanks to Emily at Chilli Marmalade for this tip off!

  5. Thanks for checking out my blog. I’m loving yours especially this story. London is home for me but I’m a long way away at the moment so looking forward to reading more about your London foodie adventures.

Let me know what you think!

