Recipes / The Fast Diet

Shirataki noodle stir-fry

Shirataki noodle stirfry recipe (5:2 diet meal)It’s been a year since Chilli Marmalade was born, and it’s been 365 days of very indulgent food! Unfortunately, my waistline has expanded with my readership and I’ve impulsively decided to have a go at The Fast Diet, or The 5:2 Diet.

You may have read about it – this diet, designed by Dr Michael Mosley, claims that you’re able to eat what you want for five days of the week, with two days of ‘Intermittent Fasting’ with a 500-calorie allowance.

The Fast Diet

Crazy? Maybe, but I’ve decided to try some Fast Diet recipes for a month and see how I feel at the end.

Today, I experienced my first ‘Fast Day’ and it hasn’t been too bad. A crumpet with Vegemite for breakfast (106 calories), a pot of Yeo Valley Greek-style yogurt with vanilla for lunch (153 calories), and my Shirataki noodle stir-fry recipe for dinner (just 208 calories!).

Along with copious cups of black tea, this amount of food has left me peckish, but not starving. The great thing about this 5:2 diet is that there’s always tomorrow to look forward to if you choose not to organise your Fast Days consecutively.

Anyway, I hardly needed to write a recipe for this stir-fry meal, it’s just so simple. If you haven’t tried Shirataki noodles before, I highly recommend you do.

According to Wikipedia, “Shirataki noodles are very low carbohydrate, low calorie, thin, translucent, gelatinous traditional Japanese noodles made from devil’s tongue yam (elephant yam or the konjac yam). The word “shirataki” means “white waterfall”, describing the appearance of these noodles. Largely composed of water and glucomannan, a water-soluble dietary fiber, they have little flavor of their own.”

Shirataki noodle recipe

Shirataki noodles are firm, and quite filling, and take on the flavour of whatever you cook them with. Best of all, they’re basically calorie-free! On the downside, they’re rather expensive (isn’t all good, healthy low-calorie food?) so it’s going to be difficult to justify having them more than once a week.

This Fast Diet stir-fry recipe was satisfying and tasty, and packed with plenty of heat from the sriracha sauce. And at around 200 calories, you’re not going to get a better Fast Day main meal.

Are you, or anyone you know, embarking on The Fast Diet? I’d love some tips on how to cope with the 5:2, your recipes, and else what to expect!

20 thoughts on “Shirataki noodle stir-fry

  1. I look forward to hearing how you get on. I like the idea of it – hopefully it could help offset all my bread eating! I got as far as getting the books however I’ve not been disciplined enough to follow it yet. Good luck!

  2. I have been trying this for about a month and find it really easy. I prefer to eat nothing all day except tea and water and then an easy light supper. So far so good and there’s always the thought that I can eat whatever I want the next day. Good luck and I shall definitely try this recipe if I can find those noodles!

  3. I started my 5:2 on holiday in Tenerife!!!! Yes I know sounds nuts!!!! but I didnt find it too hard, that was a month ago and am still doing it, have lost 7lb long way to go but this feels right for me.

  4. Pingback: Broccoli, cauliflower & parsnip soup | Chilli Marmalade | a London-based food blog

  5. Pingback: Hoisin ginger chicken with Shirataki noodles | Chilli Marmalade | a London-based food blog

  6. Pingback: Scrambled eggs with pepper & chilli | Chilli Marmalade | a London-based food blog

  7. Pingback: Vegetable balti curry | Chilli Marmalade | a London-based food blog

Let me know what you think!

