Around the Web

Around the web food round-up: May 2013

The internet is a treasure-trove of interesting information and I’ve found that there’s so many creative and wonderful food-related things to be found online. I’ve decided to start compiling a regular round-up of the best I could find to share with you!

The First Taste:

This gorgeous clip of little kids trying foods like olives and oranges for the first time, created by Saatchi & Heckler for TEDxSydney is absolutely adorable:

 

Delicatessen With Love:

Keeping with the adorable theme, Gabriele Galimberti’s series of grandmas pictured alongside their signature dish makes me think of my two grandmas, who both create the most wonderful comfort food. Click through the image below for the entire series – there’s some really beautiful and surprising meals.

Delicatessen With Love

Edible Beyoncé Oreo pop-trait:

Made from 3780 Oreo Pops (Oreo cookies crushed and combined with Philadelphia cheese – yum!), UK artist Michelle Wibowo took eight hours to create this five foot by eight foot portrait of Beyoncé. Why? Well, it was apparently part of a campaign to encourage families to spend more time in the kitchen together. If that’s the case, then I think a portrait of Peppa Pig or Bob the Builder may have been more appropriate, but who am I to judge?

Ten 10 gross ingredients you didn’t know were in your food:

I won’t spoil this article from The Guardian’s Word of Mouth blog for you, but if the thought of human hair in your food is a turn-off, then avoid!

The comments section is probably where I got most of my enjoyment, here’s a sample: “Taste is the most important thing for me. My local Chinese sells ribs that are so small they can only be from a cat. They taste great though so I’m not bothered. Plus I hate cats too.”

Screen Shot 2013-05-14 at 17.25.45

An Eight Course Meal In Clothes Made Of Food:

You can always rely on Buzzfeed for the weirdest and wackiest from around the web, and this series of photos featuring people wearing (rather than eating) food is no exception… Just look at this white chocolate dress!

Chocolate dress

I’d love to hear about anything food-related you’ve found on the web – let me know in the comments section!

3 thoughts on “Around the web food round-up: May 2013

Let me know what you think!

