Recipes

Individual chicken, leek and mushroom pot pies

When I moved to London from Australia two years ago, I thought: “I can handle the  winter, I’ll just need to invest in some warm coats and sturdy boots!” What I didn’t take into account is just how the weather makes you feel, not physically – I can deal with shivering and sniffing – but mentally. Grey skies = grey mood. It really gets you down.

This winter has dragged on for about seven months now. More than half the year! So, to combat the dreariness I’ve been administering all manner of delicious comfort foods.

Chicken, leek and mushroom pot pieLately, our favourite ‘happy’ meal has been baked individual chicken, leek and mushroom pot pies.

Individual chicken and mushroom pot pies

4 chicken thighs
A handful of dried mushrooms
A handful of fresh button mushrooms
A handful of baby green peas
2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp plain white flour
400mL milk
1 medium leek, sliced
200ml chicken stock
A few sprigs of fresh thyme
A pack of pre-made puff pastry
1 egg

Soak the dried mushrooms in the hot chicken stock until they’re tender – this should take about 20 mins. While the mushrooms are soaking, prepare the white sauce by creating a simple roux from the flour, butter and milk.
Chop the chicken thighs into bite-sized pieces, brown in a pan with the fresh sliced mushrooms, sliced leek and fresh thyme.
Add the mushrooms and stock to the pan with a handful of frozen peas.
Reduce for about 10 minutes, then add the white sauce.
Season with salt and pepper.
Add the pie filling to your pie pots and set aside to cool.
When cool, top with puff pastry and brush with beaten egg to get a lovely golden finish.
Bake at 180 degrees until the pastry is done, this should take about 25 – 35 minutes.

Chicken, leek and mushroom pot pie

Serve with your choice of vegetables, or chips if you’re feeling particularly naughty.

Keep warm, London! Winter is almost done, and Spring is just around the corner.

13 thoughts on “Individual chicken, leek and mushroom pot pies

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more about the weather. I have to say, having lived here all my life (nearly 22 years) I don’t remember it ever being this…continuously dreadful. You should appreciate living in London haha, at least it’s warmer than most other places in the UK and you don’t get the snow so bad!

    I’d happily chow down on one of these if you threw it my way!

    J

  2. Hi Emily, I’m really enjoying your food posts. I’m going to try your pie but with a mashed potato and chive topping as I have a gluten intolerant partner. It’ll still taste divine I’m sure 😀

  3. I absolutely agree. Winter here can be so hard and miserable -and of course our seasons aren’t very predictable anymore. These individual pies looks delicious. Nice homecooked, soul- warming comfort food! perfect. xx

  4. A while ago I went to a pie party. A dinner party where everyone brought pie. There was just one rule. “A pie is not a stew with a lid”. Your pie looks lovely, but it doesn’t pass this test 🙂

  5. *Sigh* I don’t know if you had me at the chilli in the blog name or that scrumptious looking pot pie – if I make these and eat 3 then that’s not that bad is it?

    Also, I like stew with lids just fine 🙂

  6. Hi Emily! Thanks for stopping by me new food blog (: Love your recipes here, will definitely be trying some out!

  7. Oh dear. Good call on the pies! There’s just nothing better. Maybe some rich, hot piping beef stew next, perhaps? I absolutely adore London, I hope the weather cheers up soon!

Let me know what you think!

