Recipes

Boozy red onion marmalade

Red onion marmalade

Want to jazz up a hunk of brie? …add some sophistication to a toasted cheese sandwich? … or give a gift that doesn’t cost the earth?

Go ahead and make a batch of red onion marmalade with this recipe and you can’t go wrong.

Red onion jam

The combination of beautiful spanish onions with red wine, port, and soft brown sugar gives this marmalade sweetness, depth, and a flavour that gets better and more intense the longer it lasts – and it won’t last long!

I bought my onions and garlic from the beautiful St Albans Market – it’s much cheaper than buying from the big supermarkets, and you can be sure that the produce is fresh.

Red onion marmalade recipe

This amount of ingredients makes about a dozen small jars of red onion marmalade – probably eight larger jars.

I love the process of making this marmalade. The chopping and slicing and stirring and jarring can be quite meditative, and it’s one of my favourite ways to spend a rainy Sunday.

Red onion marmalade with camembert

This boozy red onion marmalade is so good when paired with my baked petit camembert recipe, a dish of pickles, and crusty bread for a perfect lazy dinner.

At Christmas, I like to give my ‘marmalade combo’ as a gift, which is a jar each of this red onion marmalade, together with my chilli marmalade. Both look pretty when all packaged up, and are delicious with leftover turkey and anything else that can be scavenged from the fridge on Boxing Day.

Enjoy!

15 thoughts on “Boozy red onion marmalade

  1. That sounds amazing. I’ve been meaning to make a red onion marmalade since Christmas. And, as red onions are on special offer this week I’m hoping to do mine, without the booze. Don’t know if it’ll work but it’s worth trying.

  2. This is an amazing looking recipe. My sister (Cathy and Chucky) drove me to distraction with showing off a batch of it on her blog and I NEEDED that recipe and she kindly shared it with me :). I KNOW what I will be doing this weekend and most of next week I will be working out amazing ways to use this unctuous, rich, gorgeousness 🙂

  3. Pingback: Camping on the Dorset coast | Chilli Marmalade | a London-based food blog

Let me know what you think!

