Drink

Starbucks Salted Caramel Mocha

I don’t like Starbucks much. I mostly think their coffee tastes like a lukewarm muddy puddle.

Unfortunately, if I’m outside of London, sometimes I have no choice if I want a coffee on the go.

The lovely Leah (from the blog Naturally, Leah) recommended I try the seasonal Pumpkin Spice Latte, so today when I was doing some shopping in Hertford I thought I’d give it a try. However, I lost my nerve when I got to the counter and opted for the decadent-sounding Salted Caramel Mocha instead.

Starbucks Salted Caramel Mocha

It was ok. Like any Starbucks coffee that has tons of flavoured syrup added, the first few mouthfuls are great until you reach the bottom half where the sweetened syrup stagnates. Even with an additional espresso shot to offset the cloying taste, it was still a little overpowering.

Calorie-wise, it packs a punch at 420 calories per serve (less without the whipped cream, which I skipped). There’s also a Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate on the seasonal menu for those who want the same basic flavour, but without the coffee hit.

Have you tried the seasonal menu at Starbucks? What do you think? Is it worth giving the Pumpkin Spice Latte a try?

15 thoughts on “Starbucks Salted Caramel Mocha

  1. I quite like the pumpkin spice latte, but then again, I like Starbucks. For the reasons you stated not to like Starbucks, I wouldn’t recommend you try it. BUT! Making your own pumpkin spice latte is even better than Starbucks; and it’s not that hard!

  2. I agree with you about Starbucks. I find their coffee a bit more on the burnt and acidic side. I haven’t tried their pumpkin spiced latte this year. I’m hoping they are still using the same old brand of pumpkin syrup as before. I use to go to this other coffee place called Peet’s in the US and they used to make pretty awesome seasonal drinks. But I found out this year that they changed the brand of pumpkin spice syrup and it taste just nasty! I’m looking to make my own syrup in the next couple of weeks, which I will post. I think homemade is the way to go.

  3. Oh, and to answer your question –I LOVE pumpkin spice latte when it’s made right by the Barista. A lot of the times they don’t tamp enough so you don’t really taste the coffee flavor. A lot also has to do with how good the pumpkin spice syrup they are using is.

  4. i’m not a coffee drinker, but i usually get the seasonal drinks this time of year because they are so festive. i like the pumpkin spice latte.

  5. I don’t drink coffee, so I don’t feel qualified to answer that question 🙂 But I have had the salted caramel hot chocolate from Starbucks and thought it was pretty good. I’d much rather have salted caramel sauce on top of ice cream, though!

  6. I dislike Starbucks overall, but allow myself at least one Pumpkin Spice Latte every fall. The peppermint mocha is also quite tasty. These drinks are an entire meal’s worth of calories though. So don’t get addicted. In the US, Dunkin Donuts is now competing with a pumpkin latte too — much cheaper and slightly healthier, but too sweet for me.

Let me know what you think!

