Ingredients

Backyard chickens and lovely fresh eggs

There’s nothing better than fresh eggs from happy and healthy backyard chickens. My mother-in-law, Wendy, carefully nurtures and dotes on six lovely hens who supply the entire family with plenty of eggs every week.

Here’s a clip of Wendy’s chickens enjoying their luxurious pen:

;

Happy hens = lots of eggs. They’re currently laying six eggs a day, so there’s plenty to go around! We come away with at least six eggs for our kitchen per week.

Backyard chickens and lovely fresh eggs

Yes, they’re weird sizes and all different colours, but the taste is second to none. The yolks (sometimes double yolks!) are the most vibrant deep shade of yellow, and make supermarket eggs pale in comparison.

I love these fresh eggs, they provide the basis for an easy and cheap meal, add a gorgeous richness to pasta sauces and a beautiful hue to homemade cakes. They’re amazing scrambled, poached or fried, or mixed with leftovers for a quick omelette.

But my favourite way to eat these fresh eggs is boiled. Easy.

Boiled eggs and soldiersSimple and quick, boiled eggs served with hot buttered soldiers of toast and maybe a dollop of herring roe on the side for some extra savoury saltiness is a divine way to eat breakfast, lunch or dinner!

What’s your favourite way to eat eggs? I think I’ve almost exhausted all my options now, so if you have some ideas for me, I’d love to hear them!

24 thoughts on “Backyard chickens and lovely fresh eggs

  1. I love omelets with lots of veggies; or a quiche! A little more work than plain eggs, but yum! How cool is that you get to have fresh eggs!

  2. I used to have three chickens when I was growing up, and they faithfully laid one egg per day. One chicken in particular used to skip a day, and then the next day would be a double yolk! There really is nothing like fresh eggs, you’re right, the color is just so unlike the supermarket variety πŸ™‚ You are so lucky to have fresh eggs, and it’s wonderful that your whole family can share! My favorite way to serve eggs is scrambled with a bit of butter and some fresh herbs πŸ™‚

  3. If the eggs are freshly laid it has to be poached eggs for me. Have just returned from a road trip to country NSW and have returned with fresh eggs. I’m in heaven! I bet those eggs would make amazing fresh pasta. Lucky, lucky you to have access to fresh eggs.

  4. My absolute favorite way to eat eggs is poached (especially eggs poached in tomatoes!), but another favorite way– which is even easier to make– is huevos rancheros, with fried eggs (using olive oil) placed on top of warmed or fried corn tortillas, and then you can pour on some salsa or sprinkle on some cheese.

  5. I never use to be a fan of eggs but I’ve found that recently I’ve been having a boiled egg with some avocado on multigrain bread for brekkie, and have absolutely loved it! It’s pretty simple, but tastes delicious πŸ™‚
    However, looking at your last piccie – I don’t know you could ever tire of that dish. Your egg looks boiled to perfection and I’m salivating just thinking of how it would pair with the buttered toast and condiments! πŸ˜›

  6. We have one chook who produces incredible eggs. She loves to lay them in random, difficult to access parts of the yard so sometimes the blue tongue lizard gets them before we do πŸ™‚

  7. Love your blog! Eggs…my favourite. Coddled, poached, scrambled, fried, baked in the oven with cheese, in frittata, omelettes, as a stable for cakes or quiches…how would we live without them?

  8. Your picture reminds me of how my mother used to serve me breakfast many years ago, but minus the herring row. I never have success with boiled eggs, as there are too many variables: size of pot, temperature of water when you place the eggs in the pot, number of eggs in the pot, thickness of the shell, etc. I love them fried with rashers, bangers and black & white pudding, scrambled soft, and in omelets, but the easiest way is poached: boil the water, crack each egg into separate small bowls, when the water comes to a full boil gently slip the eggs into the water, cook them exactly 2 minutes, remove with a slotted spoon to drain and toss them onto a toasted, buttered English Muffin. Hmmm, I can’t wait to go to bed so I can get up tomorrow morning and have breakfast.

  9. that’s great that your mother-in-law raises her own hens. i love soft-boiled eggs and haven’t had them in so long. thanks for the idea!

  10. Such pretty eggs! We just picked up 2 dozen from the farmers market and I’m sure we’ll use them all up by next week. It’s not easy to get your hands on farm fresh eggs, but the effort is worth it. You’re right… their taste is above and beyond the supermarket variety. My favorite way to make eggs is just to scramble them and add a generous (ok, I’ll be honest… heaping) amount of fresh goat cheese. Sprinkle sea salt, pepper, and thyme on top – game over.

  11. There is nothing like backyard eggs! I was amazed the first time I tried eggs from a friends chickens – the yolks stood up so high I thought I was looking at cartoon illustration from a flying saucer. Nice post. Ken

Let me know what you think!

