Recipes

Easy chilli con carne with six bean mix

I’ve never really cooked chilli con carne. It was never a standby in our family. In fact, the first time I tried it was when I had a British flatmate in my early 20s. She cooked up a batch and served it with fluffy rice – it was surprisingly delicious.

I’ve since experimented with versions of my own when I have some beef mince laying about – the spicier, the better!

You may see a recurring theme with my recipes, I like simple and uncomplicated, but without sacrificing on the tasty factor. I’ve taken a few shortcuts with this recipe, making it so much simpler to whip up a batch of chilli con carne after a long day of work.

Anyway, here’s how to do it:

Chilli con carne with six bean mix

Easy chilli con carne with six bean mix

125g good quality beef mince (I use good quality so you don’t have to faff about draining the fat away. So lazy!)
2 400g cans of chopped tomatoes
1 pack of Epicure Rustic Six Bean Mix (or 350g of your choice of beans – this Epicure pack contains borlotti beans, cannellini beans, haricot beans, blackeye beans, red kidney beans and black beans)
1 tbs Bart Fajita seasoning (or your own mix of spices – this seasoning mix contains chilli, salt, cumin, black pepper, oregano, garlic and paprika)
3/4 cup chopped spring onion
3 rashers of streaky bacon, chopped
1 tbs tomato paste
1 cup of coriander, chopped
1/3 cup parmesan, grated

Fry the beef mince and bacon until browned, adding the white bits of the spring onion towards the end.
Sprinkle in the spice mix and give it a minute to fry off before adding the beans and the two tins of tomatoes with the tomato paste. Add 1/3 of the coriander.
Simmer for about 30 minutes to let the flavours intensify.
Serve with rice (or on toast if you’re feeling lazy!) with the coriander and parmesan on top.

This recipe made a much larger batch than I was expecting, I suppose with the addition of the beans to the chilli con carne you’re adding bulk and texture as well as some healthy fibre. Bonus!

There should be enough for two big serves with a serve leftover for the freezer.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Easy chilli con carne with six bean mix

  1. If there’s streaky bacon involved, sign me up: it HAS to be good. You already have me!

    But what particularly strikes me as unusual is your inclusion of parmesan. I’ve never once even considered topping chili con carne with that Italian cheese—and, in fact, I scoffed at the very idea.

    At first.

    But taking a step back, I can’t help but wonder at what a brilliant idea that is: consider that parmesan (or if you’ve got the cash, D.O.C.-approved Parmigiano-Reggiano) is loaded with glutamates, which would help enhance all the meaty flavors from the beef mince and tomatoes.

    So, in the end, I do smile—even grin, approvingly—at the topping. Well done, Ms Chilli-Marmalade!

Let me know what you think!

