Recipes

Courgette, basil and parmesan soup with crispy smoked bacon

My fabulous and very generous allotment-tending mother-in-law, Wendy, gave me a very large courgette last week. This courgette was so big that it sat on our coffee table for a week, intimidating me.

Big courgette (or zucchini)Today, I got sick of looking at it, so decided to blitz it into a soup. A big pot of green, garlicky soup to tackle the beginning of the sniffles I’m feeling.

I played this one by ear, just adding leftover bits from the fridge as I went.

Courgette soup blender

Courgette, basil and parmesan soup with crispy smoked bacon

1.5kg courgette (or zucchini), chopped into dice-sized pieces
2 tbs extra virgin olive oil
10 cloves of garlic, crushed and chopped
1/2 cup frozen green peas
2 large handfuls of basil, torn
1 handful of flat-leaf parsley
1 litre of chicken stock (I used a chicken Knorr Stock Pot)
A big pinch of salt, plenty of cracked black pepper
2 tbs double cream (I had it leftover from Nigella’s Yellow Spaghetti)
1 handful of grated parmesan
6 rashers of smoked streaky bacon
Heat the olive oil in a big heavy stock pot, add the courgette, basil and garlic, then saute until the courgette is soft and browned.
Add the frozen peas and the chicken stock, simmer for about 15 minutes.
Add the parsley to the pot and blend the mixture in a food processor until smooth.
Return to the heat, adding the cream, parmesan and salt and pepper to taste.
Now that the soup has finished, grill six rashers of smoked streaky bacon until crispy, drain on some paper towel, and chop into shards.
Serve the soup alongside some crusty bread with the bacon sprinkled on top.
Courgette, basil and parmesan soup with crispy smoked bacon
This soup not only got the big tick of approval from Mr Q (who doesn’t really like soups), but I think I’ve also consumed enough garlic to kill my cold. Bonus! I can see this courgette soup recipe becoming a firm favourite in the coming months.
6 thoughts on “Courgette, basil and parmesan soup with crispy smoked bacon

  1. Pingback: Courgette, pea and mint fritters | Chilli Marmalade

  2. Pingback: Prawn udon noodle soup | Chilli Marmalade

  3. Pingback: Courgette, basil and parmesan soup with crispy ...

Let me know what you think!

