Recipes

Slow-cooker pulled pork (and my slap-dash barbeque sauce)

I’m a massive fan of meat. Every which way: oven-roasted, pan-seared, slow-cooked, fast-cooked, rare-bloody-gorgeousness and blackened charred sticky edges. Mostly, I like my meat barbequed.

On my quest for the perfect barbequed meat feast, I paid a visit to London’s most popular barbeque joint, Pitt Cue Co in Soho a week ago and inhaled the most succulent pulled pork I’d ever tasted.

So, I decided to have a go at some pulled pork in my own kitchen, but approached my recipe from a different angle – by firing up my trusty slow-cooker…

Slow-cooker pulled pork

Before I embarked on my great homemade pulled pork adventure, I researched various slow-cooker pulled pork recipes online and realised that the best approach was by ‘feel’, and a top-notch homemade barbeque sauce. The best homemade barbeque sauce follows the principle of balancing salty, sweet, sharp and spice, so I gathered my arsenal of pantry sauces – worstershire sauce, Firkin hot sauce, honey, tomato paste, garlic salt, red wine vinegar, dijon mustard, cumin powder and balsamic vinegar.

I popped to Waitrose and picked up a boneless pork loin roast (discounted by 50%, as my luck would have it!), chopped a big brown onion into chunky slices to line the bottom of the slow-cooker, and threw the pork in with 1.5 litres of chicken stock and a hefty glug of worstershire sauce.

I left the pork to sit and slowly melt in the slow-cooker for nine hours, before pulling the beast out, trimming away the fat and rind, then pulling the pork with two forks until shredded. I reserved a little of the stock to the side, emptied the rest from the slow-cooker and added the pulled pork back in.

Slow-cooker pulled pork

Now for the fun part. I mixed the various sauces until I got the consistency of a thick barbeque sauce, about two cups worth. I have no idea of the actual quantities, I just balanced the flavours as I went. More salty, more sweet, more sharp, more spice until it was just right.

I stirred the sauce into the pulled pork little-by-little until I got a good coverage of the meat, then added a little ladle of the stock to loosen everything up. I left it to stew for a further two hours on a very low heat and the end result was outstanding.

Pulled pork isn’t right without a sharp and creamy slaw to serve on the side. Again, I didn’t follow any particular recipe, just finely sliced half a fresh red cabbage, grated two big carrots, two tart green apples with the skin on, and a brown onion into a salad bowl, stirring through some salad cream, the juice of two limes and plenty of black pepper. Ta-da! Red cabbage and apple slaw.

Red cabbage and apple slaw

Eat this pork piled high on a soft burger bun with plenty of red cabbage and apple slaw and a side of little green pickles. You’ll have tons left over, so stash it in the fridge and spoon it fridge-cold onto hot buttered toast for breakfast. Yum.

29 thoughts on “Slow-cooker pulled pork (and my slap-dash barbeque sauce)

  1. This looks great! Next time you might want to add a teaspoon or so of liquid smoke flavor in the cooking liquid…I always do that with slow cooker pulled pork and it really adds that smokiness you miss out on otherwise

  2. This is precisely the important information I’d been searching for. Incredible blog. Very inspirational! Your posts are so good and also detailed. The links you come with are also very beneficial as well. Many thanks 🙂

  3. This has got my mouth watering and I love the idea of eating it on hot toast for breakfast. The slaw also looks yummy. Thanks for liking my blog, I am rebuilding it after a nasty hacker deleted it a few weeks ago, so every bit of support is a big help.

  4. Oh my! I’m only an occasional slow cooker cook, and have been thinking about what to make that isn’t the usual variation on a stew/casserole. This looks right up my street – like you I love meat, and keep meaning to try a pulled pork recipe. And I think this is the one!

  5. Em I made this as promised in September and it was such a hit that I’m making it again tomorrow as the main dish at my Christmas Tiki party. Complete with the apple slaw. It is awesome xx

  6. This looks absolutely amazing! Will be making it as soon as I find someone to sponsor the pork… Quick question – did you put the pork in for nine hours on low or high? Thanks! 😀

  7. Pingback: Roast pork belly & crispy crackling | Chilli Marmalade | a London-based food blog

Let me know what you think!

