TV

Happy birthday, Julia Child!

Can you believe that famous TV chef Julia Child would have been 100 years old this week?

Admittedly, I didn’t know much about Julia Child until I saw the movie Julie & Julia a few years ago, but I just adore her enthusiasm and have since been inspired to be more adventurous in the kitchen.

Seeing this clip got me thinking about my favourite TV chefs…

As a very young girl, I loved watching Geoff Jansz on morning TV’s ‘What’s Cooking?’, he was an absolute dreamboat, and made cooking seem really fun. I remember seeing him in person when I was about 15 years old, and almost fainting with excitement.

Before Geoff Jansz, Peter Russell-Clarke was always a constant presence on our TV screens – he was the typical Aussie larrikin and had a cheeky way with cheese…

His five-minute tv show ‘Come and Get It’ used to screen between scheduled programmes on the ABC and I loved his short snippets of insanity.

… and finally, my favourite TV chef, the wonderful Keith Floyd.

Unfortunately, too much good living (smoking, drinking, and rich French food) finished this TV chef off after his fourth unsuccessful marriage. I just loved his dark sense of humour and the way he sipped wine during recording a cooking segment until his speech slurred and he looked utterly bemused. Brilliant.

Who’s your favourite TV chef, and why?

Do TV chefs inspire you to get off the sofa and into the kitchen, or are you happy just being a cookery-show spectator?

2 thoughts on “Happy birthday, Julia Child!

  1. Thank you for honoring the old girl. My mother was fond of her and I have vague memories of hearing her characteristic voice growing up. Likewise, it was “Julie & Julia” that really gave me the incentive to read her book and watch classic episodes of her television program.

    Oh, just one little quibble: it’s just “Child”, no “s” at the end.

    Have a lovely week!

Let me know what you think!

