Entertaining / Recipes

Thai chicken stirfry with coconut milk, basil and sweet chilli

My parents-in-law came to visit last night, so I thought I’d put a special effort into cooking a lovely dinner for them. I’m still pretty knackered due to my new work hours, so I wanted to do something lovely AND easy.

It’s always lovely to see my in-laws, I enjoy their company very much. The added bonus is that they always arrive with beautiful baskets of goodies from their allotment garden – fresh herbs, potatoes and eggs. I’m a lucky, lucky girl, right?

For starters, I prepared the ingredients for the Vietnamese prawn spring rolls that have become a favourite at our house.

For dinner I attempted to recreate a dish from one of my favourite hometown restaurants, Dede Indonesian & Thai in North Hobart. The dish I remember was beef with coconut milk, garlic, chillies and lemon grass. I thought I’d give it a go, tweaking the ingredients slightly to include chicken.

Thai chicken stirfry with coconut milk, basil and sweet chilli

Four chicken breasts, sliced
1 can (400g coconut milk)
1 big chunk of ginger, grated
3 cloves of garlic
1 cup of chopped spring onion
1 red pepper (capsicum), chopped roughly
2 tablespoons of fish sauce
1 cup bean sprouts
2 tablespoons of dark soy sauce
1 tablespoon sweet chilli sauce, or chilli marmalade
1/2 head of broccoli, chopped
Sesame oil
A handful of basil leaves,torn

Slice chicken into thin slices and brown in sesame oil, in batches, then remove from pan.
Add garlic, ginger, stirfry for a few minutes, then simmer with the fish sauce, dark soy sauce and coconut milk, for a few minutes.
Add broccoli, red pepper, spring onion and bean sprouts to the pan, then the chicken and torn basil leaves.
Serve with jasmine rice.

There was enough to go around four very hungry people, as well as a small serve that I’ve brought with me to work for my lunch. Bonus!

chicken cashew

It wasn’t quite as good as the version I was attempting to recreate, but delicious all the same.

Deep in the basket of goodies that the in-laws brought with them was a box of mini macarons from Paul Patisserie – six coloured macarons of different flavours, (chocolate, coffee, vanilla, pistachio, raspberry and lemon) all packaged up in a gorgeous glossy black box.

macarons

These certainly didn’t last long (the pistachio flavour was my favourite).

I’d love to attempt to make a batch of macarons sometime soon, so if you have an easy recipe you can share, please let me know!

5 thoughts on “Thai chicken stirfry with coconut milk, basil and sweet chilli

  1. The stir-fry with coconut milk sounds and looks scrumptious. And I adore the macarons that your in-laws brought. ~ judy

  2. Hello, very professional high level blog! thank you for sharing. Because of good writing, and I learned a lot, and I am glad to see such a beautiful thing. Sorry for my bad English. ?

Let me know what you think!

