Recipes

Spinach, feta and tomato savoury muffins

I baked six big spinach, feta & tomato savoury muffins for my mother-in-law, Wendy, about a month ago. I wrapped them up in a tea-towel, fresh out of the oven, and drove down to her allotment where she was working hard to plant rows of vegetable seeds.

Spinach, Feta & Tomato Savoury MuffinShe ate one, then demolished another, then squeezed a third one in before wrapping the last three up with the intention of taking them home for my father-in-law Alan to try.

Alan didn’t end up tasting my spinach, feta & tomato savoury muffins, as, according to Wendy, she turned her back for one minute and “a dog ate them”.

I have my doubts.

Here’s the recipe:

Spinach, feta & tomato savoury muffins

2 1/2 cups of self-raising flour
250g shredded baby spinach
150g feta cheese
1/2 cup sundried tomatos
2tbs finely grated parmesan
1 1/3 cups milk
90g butter, melted
1 egg
cracked black pepper
pinch of salt
grated parmesan for the top

Preheat oven to 200C
Add spinach to a mixing bowl with flour, salt, add crumbled feta, tomatos, parmesan and stir
Whisk milk, melted butter and egg separately, pour into dry mix and stir very roughly (there should still be lumps of flour in the mix)
Spoon mix into muffin pan, sprinkle with a little cheese and black pepper
Bake for 20 minutes, or until brown and risen.

This is such an adaptable recipe. Sometimes, I substitute the tomatos for roasted peppers and add a spoonful of smoked garlic and chilli for a bit of a kick. A little bit of chopped, fried bacon is also delicious.

Do you like your muffins sweet or savoury? I would love some suggestions for new ingredients… I’ve been thinking that a blue cheese, bacon and broccoli version might be interesting! Thoughts?

16 thoughts on “Spinach, feta and tomato savoury muffins

  1. Pingback: Afternoon tea muffins and scones | Chilli Marmalade

  2. Pingback: Creamy chicken and vegetable casserole with parsley dumplings | Chilli Marmalade

  3. Pingback: Lemon drizzle muffins | Chilli Marmalade

  4. Pingback: An adventure with food.

  5. I’ll be making this during the week, sounds so yum, plus I have some spinach in the garden and feta and tomatoes in the fridge, I might even add some sun dried tomatoes. Thank you fo the recipe.

  6. Pingback: Red pesto and cheddar cheese muffins | Chilli Marmalade

  7. These look delicious! Thanks for liking my post! I am just now starting to put together my repertoire of recipes so hopefully you’ll come back to Pamplemousse to find new recipes! In the meantime, I have to make these!!!

Let me know what you think!

