Recipes

Firkin Hot Sauce

Hot sauce rocks my world.

I promised earlier in the week in my post ‘Growing chillis at home‘ that I’d post the recipe for my Firkin Hot Sauce.

I came across various hot sauce recipes online and did a lot of reading before embarking on this little project. Very pleased with the result in the end – considering it was a first attempt at making hot sauce.

Firkin Hot SauceHere’s the recipe:

Firkin Hot Sauce

20 scotch bonnets or red habanero chillis
100ml red wine vinegar
2 tsp soft brown sugar
head of garlic
A few big pinches of sea salt

Blend the scotch bonnets (leave the seeds in!) and the garlic cloves up in a blender or food processor until finely processed
Add the mix to a big heavy-bottomed pan with the salt, vinegar and sugar, bring to the boil, then simmer for 20 minutes.
Cool slightly before pouring into jars or bottles

Multiply this recipe as required.

I actually multiplied the recipe by 5 (yes – 100 chillis!) and ended up with a gorgeous litre of hot sauce that we’ve since dubbed Firkin Hot Sauce.

Firkin Hot Sauce is on our table for every meal (including breakfast, it’s great with eggs) and is just so versatile.

Hot Chilli SauceAs I mentioned in my post about my home-grown chillis, I hope to use yellow habaneros for my next batch of hot sauce to try and recreate the delicious Wahaca habenero hot sauce with a touch of honey.

What’s your favourite dining table condiment? Do you make your own sauces for the table?

17 thoughts on “Firkin Hot Sauce

  1. Pingback: Indonesian Beef Udon | Chilli Marmalade

  2. Pingback: Update: Growing chillis at home | Chilli Marmalade

  3. Pingback: That Chorizo Thing (or chorizo with peppers and courgette on couscous) | Chilli Marmalade

  4. Pingback: Slow-cooker pulled pork (and my slap-dash barbeque sauce) | Chilli Marmalade

  5. Pingback: Slow-cooker pulled pork (and my slap-dash barbeque sauce) | Chilli Marmalade

  6. Pingback: Red pesto and cheddar cheese muffins | Chilli Marmalade

Let me know what you think!

