Ingredients

Products I love: Asian ingredients

Chinese dim sum, Japanese teppenyaki, Indian curry, Malaysian satay, Thai noodles and Vietnamese salads; Asian food is my ultimate indulgence.

Asian food can be fresh and zingy, salty and crisp, creamy and sweet or fiery hot – what every style has in common is plenty of flavour.

I know that my skills in the kitchen can’t match the techniques of Japan’s sushi masters or China’s finest dumpling chefs, but I enjoy adding a little Asian flair to my dishes at home with some simple pantry staples.

Asian groceriesMy regular shipment from Wai Yee Hong arrived in the post today packed with lots of goodies!

Some of my absolute Asian food must-haves:

  • Lee Kum Kee Premium Soy Sauce (李錦記鮮味生抽) Better than any other soy sauce I’ve tried. Not too salty, but really lovely and savoury.
  • Chaokoh Coconut Milk (椰奶) A really creamy canned coconut milk that is really good added to curries. Much better quality than any of the supermarket brands. I’ve also found this brand at the bigger Tesco stores (or Tesco online) without too much hassle.
  • Udon Noodles (新鮮烏冬) No idea what the brand name is for this particular pack of noodles as most of the label packaging is in Japanese. All I look for is the cool little manga Bento chef on the front. These are slimy, thick and slippery noodles, perfect for tossing in the wok with some marinated chicken and some fresh bok choy for an easy (and cheap) meal.
  • Sriracha Hot Chilli Sauce (加辣醬) Matthew Inman of The Oatmeal said it better than me. See: Dear Sriracha a.k.a Rooster Sauce

Asian ingredientsLooking forward to using all of these bits and pieces over the next month or so when I’m looking for a quick-fix dinner after work – mostly it’s as easy as adding a little protein and a few fridge crisper vegetables and we’re sorted for flavour.

3 thoughts on “Products I love: Asian ingredients

  1. Pingback: Eating out: Mudmee Thai Restaurant, London | Chilli Marmalade

  2. Pingback: Indonesian Beef Udon | Chilli Marmalade

  3. Pingback: Itsu Prawn Potsu | Chilli Marmalade

Let me know what you think!

